CENTRAL GROUND WATER AUTHORITY

(Constituted under Section 3 (3) of Environment (Protection Act), 1986) West Block-II, Wing-3 (Ground Floor), Sector-1, R.K. Puram, New Delhi-110066 Phone No.(011)26175373, 26175367 Telefax: (011)26175369

Public Notice No. 1/2012

SUB: DECLARATION OF THE AREAS AS "NOTIFIED AREA" FOR REGULATION OF GROUND WATER ABSTRACTION/ DEVELOPMENT

Whereas the Central Government constituted the Central Ground Water Authority (hereinafter referred to as the Authority) vide notification of the Government of India in the Ministry of Environment and Forests vide Number S.O. 38 (E) dated the 14th January, 1997, as amended from time to time, for the purposes of regulation and control of ground water development and management in the whole of India;

And whereas the Central Government has empowered the Authority to exercise of its powers and performance of its functions under section 5 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 (No. 29 of 1986) to issue directions in writing to any person, officer or any Authority and such person, officer or authority shall be bound to comply with such directions;

And whereas the Authority has identified certain mandals/blocks/talukas in the States of Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Gujarat, Karnataka, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and UT of Puducherry specified in the schedule appended to this notification as "Over Exploited Areas" in view of ground water withdrawal being more than its replenishable limits resulting in decline in ground water levels and drying up of wells in those areas;

And whereas the Authority, has issued public notice vide no. 3/2010 dated 25.9.2010 in the leading daily newspapers, inviting objections and suggestions from all persons likely to be affected thereby, if these areas are notified for regulation of ground water abstraction and management;

And whereas the Authority having considered all objections and suggestions received by it in this regard;

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred under section 5 and clauses (xii) and (xiv) of sub-section (2) of section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 (29 of 1986) read with paragraph 2 of the notification of the Government of India in the Ministry of Environment and Forest number S.O. 38 (E) dated 14th January, 1997, the Authority with a view to protect and preserve ground water resources hereby declare 80 mandals/blocks/talukas falling in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Haryana, Punjab, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry(UT) as specified in the Schedule appended to this notification as "Notified Areas" and issues the following directions, namely: -

DIRECTIONS

2

- No person/agency/organization/industry will construct/install any new structure for extraction of ground water resources without prior specific approval of the Authorized Officer i.e. Chief Officer in charge of revenue District (whether called District Collector, Deputy Commissioner or by any other name) of the district and subject to the guidelines /safeguards envisaged from time to time in this connection by the Authority for ground water extraction and rain water harvesting / recharge etc.
- 2. The authorized officer shall ensure that no person/organization/industry/builder/developer shall undertake the operation of drilling, construction, installation of new abstraction structure and any scheme/project for ground water development and management in the notified area without his prior specific approval after the publication of this Public Notice.

Any violation of directions issued attracts the penal action under the provision of section 15 of Environment (Protection) Act, 1986.

Provided that nothing in these directions shall apply to any owner of a non-energized dug well or borewell fitted with hand pump used solely for drinking and domestic purposes.

(CHAIRMAN)

SCHEDULE

. No.	State	District Name	Mandal/Block/Taluka
1	Andhra Pradesh	Anantapur	Chimathur
2		Anantapur	Narpala(NC)
3		Nizamabad	Vailpoor (NC)
4		Prakasam	Giddaluru *
1	Gujarat	Gandhinagar	Kalol
2		Gandhinagar	Mansa
3		Mahesana	Mahesana
1	Haryana	Kaithal	Rajaund
2		Sirsa	Ellenabad
1	Karnataka	Bagalkote	Badami
2		Bagalkote	Bagalkote(P)
3		Bangalore (U)	Anekal
4		Bangalore (U)	Bangalore (N)
5		Bangalore (U)	Bangalore (S)
6		Bangalore(R)	Devanhalli
7		Bangalore(R)	Dod Ballapur .
8		Bangalore(R)	Hoskote
9		Bangalore(R)	Nelamangala(P)
10		Belgaum	Ramdurg
11		Belgaum	Raybag(P)
12		Gadag	Gadag(NC)
13		Kolar	Bangarapet
14		Chikballapur	Chik Ballapur
15		Chikballapur	Chintamani
16		Chikballapur	Gauribidanur
17		Chikballapur	Gudibanda
18		Kolar	Malur
19		Kolar	Mulbagal
20		Chikballapur	Sidlaghhatta
21		Tumkur	Koratagere(P)
22		Tumkur	Madhugiri(P)
1	Puducherry UT	Puducherry	Puducherry
1		Amritsar	Ajnala
2		Taran taran	Patti
3		Taran taran	Tarn Taran
4		Fatehgarh Sahib	Amloh
5		Fatehgarh Sahib	Khamano
6		Fatehgarh Sahib	Khera
7		Hoshiarpur	Tanda
8		Jalandhar	Bhogpur
9		Jalandhar	Goraya/Rurka kalan
10		Jalandhar	Jalandhar east



11	Punjab	Jalandhar	Jalandhar west
12		Jalandhar	Nurmahal
13		Jalandhar	Phillaur · ·
14		Kapurthala	Bholath/Nadala
15		Kapurthala	Dhilwan
16		Kapurthala	Kapurthala
17		Kapurthala	Sultanpur
18		Ludhiana	Pakhowal
19		Mansa	Bhikhi
20		Mansa	Budhlada
21		Mansa	Sardulgarh
22		Nawan Shahr	Aur
23		Nawan Shahr	Banga
24		Patiala	Patiala
25		Patiala	Sanaur
26		Ropar	Morinda
27		Sangrur	Bhawaniagarh
1	Rajasthan	Chittorgarh	Chhitorgarh
2		Chittorgarh	Nimbahera
3		Nagaur	Kuchaman .
1	Tamil Nadu	Coimbatore	Pollachi_S
2		Dharmapuri	Morappur -
3		Dharmapuri	Pappireddipatti
4		Madurai	Usilampatti
5		Nagapattinam	Kuttalam
6		Namakkal	Rasipuram
7		Salem	Attur-S
8		Salem	Gangavalli
9		Salem	Panamaruthupatti
10		Salem	Talaivasal
11		Salem	Veerapandi
12		Tiruvannamalai	Chengam
13		Tiruvarur	valangaiman
14		Tuticorin	Udangudi
15		Vellore	Gudiyatham
16		Vellore	Jolarpet
17		Vellore	Pernampet
18		Vellore -	Tiruppathur

